My Maker Infographic

This week’s task was to create an infographic regarding Maker Education. I’ve never created one before, but was excited when I began to peruse samples and templates available on the online infographic tools. I chose to use Venngage to create my infographic and I thought it was a great tool.

My infographic presents the many benefits of integrating Maker Education practices and learning environments and the skills they help students to develop. My hope is that it might educate my non-teaching colleagues on the power of Maker Education and inspire other educators to embrace the maker movement and build maker opportunities in their classrooms to support student learning.

Here is a link to my infographic:

Embracing Maker Education

References:

Halverson, E.R. & Sheridan, K. (2014). The maker movement in education. Harvard Educational Review, 84(4), 495-465.

Sheridan, K. Halverson, E.R., Litts, B.K., Brahms, L, Jacobs-Priebe, L., & Owens, T. (2014) Learning in the making: A comparative case-study of three maker spaces. Harvard Educational Review, 84(4), 505-565.

Anderson, J. (2013). Benefits of Design- and Maker-Thinking. Retrieved from: http://www.gse.harvard.edu/news/13/12/benefits-design-and-maker-thinking

Le, D. (2015). The Maker Movement and the Classroom. Retrieved from: http://www.edudemic.com/maker-movement-classroom/

Educause. (2013). 7 Things You Should Know About Makerspaces. Retrieved from: https://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/ELI7095.pdf

Leave a Reply

